Recent Reads: 2-8 December 2018

img_0165

I read 3 whole books this week!

And of course, I also started one that I have been so excited to get to, and unfortunately, I DNF-ed another, rather popular, book for now.

See which ones they were in this week’s reading update! Continue reading

Advertisements

Recent Reads: 25 November – 1 December 2018

img_0165

I read 4.5 books this week!

See which ones they were in this week’s reading update: Continue reading

Recent Reads: 18-24 November 2018

img_0165

This week’s reading update is a bit of a short one, but the great news from it is that last night I hit over the 10,000 word mark in my WIP! Continue reading

Recent Reads: 11-17 November 2018

img_0165

If you have been following me through my Instagram account, you will know that I hosted a mini read-a-thon this past weekend. Continue reading

Recent Reads: 4-10 November 2018

img_0165

This week has been crazy busy with figuring out my new job and reading tons of YA stories! Thank you to everyone who sent me well wishes!

But even through the jumble, I was able to finish THREE books and begin my adventure through a FOURTH! Continue reading

Recent Reads: 28 October – 3 November 2018

I’m finally moved!

All of my books are put away which means today is the day that I get to relax and recharge for my new job starting tomorrow. And of course, it’s not a lazy, rainy day without a book to finish it off!

This last week, I wasn’t able to read as much as I had hoped, but I still call it a success since I was able to squeeze a little in.

img_3029


img_0571-1

Sunday (28th October)

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) by Ransom Riggs *currently reading* *Audiobook*

img_0562


hollowThis second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerising) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.


img_0560

Published: 14 January 2014

Publisher: Alliance Entertainment

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 428


Monday (29th September)

First Full Moon by Michelle Alstead

img_0562


FFMMore secrets. More lies. I’m going to die.

She wanted a car for her sixteenth birthday, not magical powers… Candy McGregor is a teenager living in Sequim Falls, a small East Coast town, where the McGregors own just about everything. While her grandmother grooms her to run the family business—a pharmaceutical empire—Candy dreams of a life where she’s known as more than just a last name. When the monthly family dinner turns into a horror show, Candy discovers the McGregors aren’t so much blessed as they are cursed. At midnight on her sixteenth birthday, Candy inherits both the ability to do magic and the destiny to become a wolf on the next full moon. There is hope of a life that doesn’t require being chained up once a month. If Candy can undo the original spell that created the curse, she can rid the world of werewolves and remain a witch. But there’s one really big problem. Not everyone hates being a wolf. With the next full moon looming, Candy must take on forces that will do anything to stop her. Will she break the curse or surrender to life as a monster?”


img_0560

Published: 28 August 2018

Publisher: Self-Published

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 281

Click HERE for my book review!


FIRST FULL MOON

*Disclaimer: I requested a free copy of this book through Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. All of my posts contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced in any way*


Tuesday (22nd October)

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes *currently reading*

img_0562


falling kingdomsIn the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….


img_0560

Published: 11 December 2012

Publisher: Razorbill

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 412


Monday (22nd October)

Carols and Chaos by Cindy Anstey

img_0562


CarolsA lady’s maid and a valet become entangled in a yuletide counterfeiting scheme in this romantic Christmas YA adventure.

1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady’s maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He’s performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate’s holiday guests.

Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue. Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday shenanigans, Carols and Chaos is perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey.


img_0560

Published: 9 October 2018

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Historical / Romance

Pages: 336


Favorite Book of the Week: Falling Kingdoms

# of Pages Read: 749

Total # of Books Read: 2 Finished & 2 Started


Some posts you may have missed this week:


For this next week, I hope to get back into my reading zone and finish at least FOUR stories!

What books did you read this week?? Did you find a captivating and terrifying story that you want to share? Let me know in the comments!

Want to know what I thought of each book?? Subscribe below to be notified when the reviews have been released!

img_2782

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_2781

Recent Reads: 21-27 October 2018

img_0165

This past week has been a blast for books!

Not only did I get to participate in the Kingdom of Ash World Tour, but I was also able to read some really good books! Continue reading

Recent Reads: 14-20 October 2018

img_0165

The Throne of Glass Read-a-thon is coming to a close as Kingdom of Ash is on it’s way this week.

I still have to finish Tower of Dawn, but I was able to finish some horrifying books these last few days. Check out which ones they were in this week’s reading update! Continue reading

Recent Reads: 7-13 October 2018

img_0165

This week has been great for reading!

During my 7.5 hour road trip from my new apartment, I was able to chow-down on some really captivating stories. One book included a cult survival that I HIGHLY RECOMMEND to any YA reader! Continue reading