Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

img_3544

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi is the first in a YA dystopian trilogy that was recently announced to be extending past the third book next year! So of course, I had to see what the praise was about. img_5420


shatter meJuliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.“


img_5407

I loved this book!

At first, I was super confused on what was going on. We get to meet this girl who has been suffering some sort of psychological dysfunction since her imprisonment in this mysterious place. But then, all of a sudden everything starts going down which I was instantly hooked!

As I kept reading further into the book, I began to piece together what was going on. This book starts out with this asylum-type feel which was written from a well thought-out POV. We do get to feel how the character is trying to uncover.

What was interesting was the PTSD tendencies with her. You can even tell a little from the cover and synopsis on the back of the book how she’s struggling with herself in how to take in the world and people around her. The formatting consists of crossed-out sentences so you can visually see how her thought process has been altered due to the high emotional and physical abuse she has been in throughout most of her life. And she has this obsession with numbers that I am antsy to try and decipher in the later books.

Throughout the book, we do get pieces into her past and into the situation that tumbled her into the present. I liked how this story is built on this secret talent that she has. It adds more of a fantasy aspect which I am a HUGE fan of.

The plot switches gear about halfway and turns from a psychological thriller into a rebellion story. It was a smooth, fun transition to follow. So all in all, I would sum this book up as a psych thriller meets action rebels. There is also parts of this book that address societal bullying and the effects it has on someone’s mental health. I really enjoyed having all of these aspects into a book that didn’t seem to overpower the writing at all.

The characters also intrigued me right away. I was definitely tricked into the motives on a few of them. They really hook you into the story with so many feels. Which is why I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars. I can’t even rave enough about how much I enjoyed this book!

(I’ve already bought Book 2, and I plan on reading it as soon as I can!!)


img_5410

Published: 15 November 2011

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction / Dystopia

Pages: 338

How I Read It: Paperback


Stay tuned for more book reviews every Tuesday and Thursday! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_5738

2 thoughts on “Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

