City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

img_3544

Everyone, I have officially re-entered the world of Cassandra Clare!City of Bones by Cassandra Clare is the first in The Mortal Instruments series which is a highly famed YA Fantasy / Paranormal set in NYC!

img_5420


city of bonesWhen fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.“


img_5407

First off, I’d like to say that this is a re-read for me. I first read this book about 2-3 years ago around when the movie was released to the world. From what I can remember, my initial thoughts were that I enjoyed the book. I’m pretty sure the only reason I did not initially continue on to City of Ashes is because it was about the time that I started Book blogging, so my attention was leaning more towards other books.

But here I am, reading City of Bones once more!

The reason I picked it up again was due to all the hype Lord of Shadows was unleashing on all the Bookstagrammers and BookTubers!

Everywhere I looked, fellow booknerd were caught in tears and immensely frustrated with the cliffhangers that left them wanting a whole lot more.

So of course, I couldn’t read Lady Midnight until I actually read The Mortal Instruments and The Inferno Devices series (which all lead up to Lord of Shadows).

I don’t quite know why exactly I never came back to Cassandra until now, but let’s just say that Book 1 has been just as good as I remembered. BUT there were a few issues that I had while reading City of Bones.

First off, the characters are sort of typical when it comes to their overall representation in the story. In YA, most of the characters are in their early-to-late teens who also think that they are invincible, which if you think about it, is pretty accurate to how 75% of modern-day teens feel. BUT for me, I’m not a fan of having to sit down and read it. Throughout the story, the characters are constantly being told to do one thing, but of course, there wouldn’t be a story if they actually listened. But did it have to happen over, and over, and over again??

The world we get to explore full of demons and vampires was fun to read. Cassandra does a great job slowly introducing us to the various creatures in the Shadowhunter world, but the setting also seemed a tad typical in that we have various aspects that I feel I have read before in other books.

I will say that this was a freakishly fast read! I finished 3/4 of the 615 page book in under two sittings. I DEVOURED this world!

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars only because the characters kind of annoyed me. Their dialogue wasn’t too unbearable since there was ALOT of sarcastic moments snuck in which helped to offset the snarky comments they made.

Overall, this book went fast and I was still surprised with all of the twists that bombed us in the end. You would think that I would have remembered the dramatic plot changes, but nope, my jaw was completely to the floor by the end.

I agree with everyone else’s comments on how Cassandra tears their hearts apart with her writing. I am excited to continue on with City of Ashes!


img_5410

Published: 27 March 2007

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy / Paranormal

Pages: 615

How I Read It: Mass Market Movie-Edition Paperback


Stay tuned for more book reviews every Tuesday and Thursday! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_5738

One thought on “City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

