May 2017 Book Haul!

img_3548

Can y’all believe it’s already June?!

It’s June which means that I have a fun book haul for y’all from the month of May! I was able to round up six books this month along with one bookish goodie! Since I now have more time to actually go into a bookstore and browse, I was able to pick up some amazing reads along with a fun author event that I attended while on vacation a few weeks ago!

(If you follow me on Instagram or Twitter, you may already know which one I’m talking about, but for those who haven’t ventured there yet, I’ll have a full post with all those details soon!)

So which books did I buy last month??

Well that’s the question of the night!

img_7320-1

 

Here are the six books that I have added to my personal library:


Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

img_7142

img_5420


My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.”


img_5410

Published: 1 September 2015

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary / Romance

Pages: 310


The Star-Touched Queen (Star-Touched Queen #1) by Roshani Chokshi

img_7140

img_5420


Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.”


img_5410

Published: 26 April 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 342


Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

** I received this book through my Owlcrate subscription! Check out my unboxing HERE! **

img_7144

img_5420


Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.”


img_5410

Published: 30 May 2017

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary / Romance

Pages: 400


Vengeance Road (Vengeance Road #1) by Erin Bowman

img_7135

img_5420


Revenge is worth its weight in gold.

When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal.”


img_5410

Published: 1 September 2015

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Historical Western

Pages: 327


Truthwitch (Witchlands #1) by Susan Dennard

img_7145

img_5420

 


In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.”


img_5410

Published: 5 January 2016

Publisher: Tor Teen

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 416


Flame in the Mist (Flame in the Mist #1) by Renee Ahdieh

img_7133

img_5420


The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and one purpose only: to marry. Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist. Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fate was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.

So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time. But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group of bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.

The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge. Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.”


img_5410

Published: 16 May 2017

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy / Retelling

Pages: 393


img_7148

So which bookish goodie have I added to my collection??

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A Booklight!

Yes, I have added yet another one of these handy lights to my shelves. BUT, I can officially say that it was for a good reason because the one that I had kept with me in college had finally taken it’s last click and is now replaced by the new Mighty Bright collection.

What I like about this one is that instead of the blue-white light which was in the old Mighty Brights, these new, more sturdy editions utilize the warmer, white light which is better for your eyes when in a dark room. Now I don’t have to feel as guilty about reading at night (which was previously frowned upon due to my ever-worsening vision).

Which book are you most excited to read??

img_7130

Stay tuned each month for a new book haul! Subscribe below for more bookish posts sent straight to your inbox!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_5738

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “May 2017 Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s