A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

img_3544

ACOTAR is the perfect blend of Faeries and The Beauty and the Beast infused in a marvelous fantasy world.

img_5420


a court of thornsFeyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.”


img_5407

This book gave me all the feels! I was surprised how much this book reminded me of The Beauty and the Beast. I mean, I knew going into it that it had similar elements infused into the story, but I think Sarah did an amazing job in taking small aspects of the original story and creating her own, unique plot. I felt like it was a completely different story that grabbed my interest. I really liked seeing the connections between the two.

This book starts off on page one with a world that immediately drew me in. I was able to picture every square inch of Feyre’s world as she is out on the hunt. The writing style is so detailed and exquisite, I could picture all of the senses around as if I was absorbed into Feyre’s body.

I loved how this book wasn’t predictable in any way. Usually, I am able to pick up on clues here and there about how the story may develop, but nope, not in this one.

About halfway into the book, I felt like there was a shift between Feyre’s development as a character and the how she perceived the world around her. It was more dramatic than I had expected, but not in any negative way.

I feel like there is strong potential with this series with only have read the first book so far. I gave this one 5 out of 5 stars. I can, without a doubt, see myself re-reading ACOTAR again and again.

The romance that burns slowly is right on point! With all of the hype that surrounds this series, I wasn’t sure how I would like the more-adult romance, but I gotta say that Sarah did a great job with it. It is definitely not something that should be read by younger readers. I would say maybe 16 years or older, or at least a reader with a mature viewpoint.

The beautiful, descriptive writing creates a well-planned world building strategy that flourishes from cover to cover. All of the characters have strong development as well that fit well with the plot twists that we face. It really made me re-think the entire first half of the book. (You’ll know what I mean when you get to that part) It makes you think “what is real” and “what is secret.”

I am very intrigued to figure out how the characters that intertwine with Feyre at the end are going to play out in the next few books. Overall, I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK! It is my favorite books of 2017 so far!


img_5410

Published: 5 May 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy / Romance

Pages: 421


This book was AMAZING! I will definitely be reading the second book VERY, VERY soon. Since the release of ACOWAR, this series has reached #1 on the charts and has gotten mass amounts of great reviews! Eek, so excited to read further.

Stay tuned for more book reviews and fun bookish posts weekly! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!

Until next time…

Happy Reading,

img_5738

Leave a Reply

