Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

img_3544

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer is the second installment in the Lunar Chronicles featuring a spin-off of Little Red Riding Hood.

img_5420


scarletCinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.”


img_5407

I’m not going to lie, I was kinda disappointed with this book.

Cinder was awesome. To me, Scarlet felt like a pointless addition to the plot. Even though her character becomes closely tied to Cinder’s story, I always felt drawn to skip to Cinder’s chapters instead of reading Scarlet’s which includes most of the book.

Maybe it was because of how there is less action and more backstories in this book. Who knows. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy the book. I was just disappointed in my expectations of the new characters. I wasn’t as drawn to them as I thought I would have been.

BUT..

The action in this book gets just as intense as Book 1. I liked how the Wolf character wasn’t as BIG and BAD as he is portrayed in the original Riding Hood story. There were plenty of parts throughout the book that I could feel my heart racing, and there were plenty of times where I felt bored with the story.

There are a lot of bomb-drops when the plot picks up at the end. It will be fun to see how the next few books will play out because of them. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. Overall, the writing wasn’t bad in any way. I just think that the backstories and the addition of new characters brought my attention down a smidge for this book. I will still be reading on in the series. I’ve heard Book 4, Winter is AMAZING!


img_5410

Published: 5 February 2013

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy / Re-Telling

Pages: 464

How I Read It: Paperback


Stick around for more book reviews every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday! PLUS there are more bookish posts every week so stay tuned!

Subscribe below for more content from Treestand Book Reviews! You can also follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more YA content!

Happy Reading,

img_4980

Leave a Reply

