The Assassin Game by Kirsty McKay

img_3544

Do you like to play the guessing game?

The Assassin Game by Kirsty McKay is a young adult standalone where a group of kids play a murder mystery game at their island boarding school, and this year, it may not be as fun as they thought it would be.

Synopsis:


the assassins gameWho will be left after lights out?

Tag, you’re it…

It’s 4:00 a.m. when they come for me. I am already awake, strung out on the fear that they will come, and the fear that they won’t. When I finally hear the click of the latch on the dormitory door, I have only a second to brace myself before—

At Cate’s isolated boarding school, Killer is more than a game—it’s an elite secret society. Members must avoid being “Killed” during a series of thrilling pranks, and only the Game Master knows who the “Killer” is. When Cate’s finally invited to join the Assassins’ Guild, she know it’s her ticket to finally feeling like she belongs.

But when the game becomes all too real, the school threatens to shut it down. Cate will do anything to keep playing and save the Guild. But can she find the real assassin before she’s the next target?”


My Review:

Now I don’t tend to read the synopsis of a book before picking it up. So of course, I went into this book blind, and I gotta say that I think it helped to put me in more suspense as the craziness unfolded throughout the book.

First off, this book is like stalker meets murder mystery night. It’s suspenseful, but not scary. I was constantly trying the guess who the “Killer” was based on what I thought were hints in the story, but it really just turned out to be ANOTHER side-track that lead to nothing. Needless to say, I found out the shocking ending right when the main characters did. So if you want a book that will keep you on your toes, this is a great one to get into.

I could also see this book as a gateway into more scary-type books. The suspense kept me in that look-behind-your-shoulder mode, but that isn’t to say that the content was scary.. just more creepy, stalker-ish kind of feelings. So if you’re someone who has always wanted to read scary books, but just couldn’t out yourself out there to do it, this could be a great starting point.

I loved the setting. I couldn’t really think of a more perfect place to set a murder mystery in. Being set out in the middle of an island where you could barely leave was a great choice by the author.

The concept of the Game was very intriguing. It took more of a creepier turn than I thought it would have, but the plot went well with the whole concept of the Game, and of course the characters worked well together. There was less murder than I thought there would be. It was based more on the idea of the Game.

Overall, the story was an enticing, quick read. I give this one 4 out of 5 stars. The ending was satisfactory. Looking back there were a few subtle hints on who was the Killer, but I was still surprised at the end.


More Book Information:

Published: 2 August 2016

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Mystery

Pages: 325

How I Read It: Paperback


Stick around for more book reviews every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday! PLUS there are more bookish posts every week so stay tuned!

Subscribe below for more content from Treestand Book Reviews! You can also follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more YA content!

Happy Reading,

img_4980

Leave a Reply

