And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich

img_3544

And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich is a young adult paranormal novel turned psychological horror.

Synopsis:


and the treesStay away from the woods…

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the manor is cursed. The endless creaking of the house at night and the eerie stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too—questions that Silla can’t ignore: Why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer? Who is the beautiful boy who’s appeared from the woods? And who is the tall man with no eyes who Nori plays with in the basement at night… a man no one else can see?”


My Review:

This book was confusing. BUT more like the confused, down-the-rabbit-hole kind of way. Where your jaw just doesn’t seem to want to shut and you can’t help but look all around you. Those books where you don’t quite know what’s going on, but it’s so crazy that you HAVE to keep reading? Yeah… that is this book.

I loved the creepy writing. I was stuck on the edge of my bed trying to wrap my head around all of the haunted woods and the mysterious boy who randomly shows up. What really set this book away from the rest is the format. Most of the pages have crazy fonts, styles, and sizes scattered throughout. Between the format and the writing, I FELT the story and the reading became more of a visual, creepy brilliance.

What I didn’t expect was the mental health of the ending. The last few chapters threw me in such a loop. I was very confused on what was happening, but I think that it was just part of the story with all of the chaos going on. Eventually it started to click, but SOOO much happens, and I loved it!

The whole concept of the house, and the Creeper Man, and the trees feeling alive was so much fun to read. What happens with the characters is crazy and tragic to say the least. And the ending.. I was not expecting the crazy psychological wrap up.

Overall, this was a high 4 out of 5 star book. This book is very addicting, kind-of confusing (if you don’t read closely), and the format should be adapted to every other YA book. If you’re looking for a really creepy, bare-bones kind of read, this is definitely a book you’ll want to add to your TBR pile. I could just feel the trees as they crept closer… and closer


More Book Information:

Published: 6 September 2016

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Pages: 352

How I Read It: BEA 2016 ARC


**Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher while attending BEA 2016. All of my reviews contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced in any way.**

Stay tuned for more bookish posts scattered throughout the week! Don’t miss a post by subscribing below for links to all of the posts as soon as they are released!

You can also follow me on Instagram @treestandbookreviews (*hint hint, I do post more frequently over there, so if you love bookish inspiration, you’ll love the behind-the-scenes of Treestand Book Reviews) or on Twitter @KatsTBReviews!

Happy Reading,

img_4980

Leave a Reply

