Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

img_3544

Here’s a heartwarming contemporary that will make you fall in love

Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell is a young adult romance that I personally fell in love with.

 

Synopsis:


melodys key“His eyes settled on her…piercing green embers of flame that revealed the ferocity of his pain and passion, yet still shrouded him under veils of ever deepening mystery that made every ounce of her ache to unravel him.”

Tegan Lockwood’s dreams were dead, sacrificed on the noble altar of duty before they ever had a chance to live. Her entire existence was disappearing into the abyss of apathy as she labored her days away keeping her family’s struggling business alive. There would be no emotion, no color, no beauty in her life. That is, until a mysterious visitor begins to draw her out of the darkness of her past towards something that will challenge the boundaries of her world, and unlock the most deeply held secrets of her heart.”


My Review:

Everyone! This book was my gateway back to reading after MONTHS of having to prioritize school over my life. I just absolutely fell in love with this book. At first, I wasn’t really clicking with the story, but to be honest, I think it was just my reading slump talking.

This book balances romance and the down-to-earth feels. There are parts that are pretty predictable, but how the story is executed sort of covered that flaw up. I feel like it blends YA and New Adult to where both genre readers would find their hearts as jelly.

Our main characters are the out-of-her-league guy who comes to her family’s business, but at the same time, the story’s dialogue is more laid-back. And FYI, I’m not really one for the cheesy, mooshy love stories, so my recommendation for this comes pretty high.

This book just swept me off my feet into a puddle of “Awws.” I was looking for a book that is one of those contemporary / down-to-earth couples’ stories, this 5 out of 5 star book is perfect. I loved the symbolism of the key that was snuck in at the end. Utterly heartwarming, beautiful writing.

I think having more of a guy’s P.O.V. while writing the story brought that extra oomph to the romance that isn’t normally seen in YA books. Again, I can’t say how much I recommend this book. Even if you aren’t into all the romance, like me, give it a try and see what I mean 🙂


More Book Information:

Published: 24 June 2016

Publisher: Dallas Coryell

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary / Romance

Pages: 305

How I Read It: eBook from Author


**Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review. All of my book reviews, including this one, contain my OPINION only.**

Stay tuned for more bookish posts scattered throughout the week! Don’t miss a post by subscribing below for links to all of the posts as soon as they are released!

You can also follow me on Instagram @treestandbookreviews (*hint hint, I do post more frequently over there, so if you love bookish inspiration, you’ll love the behind-the-scenes of Treestand Book Reviews) or on Twitter @KatsTBReviews!

Happy Reading,

img_4295

Leave a Reply

