The Thousandth Floor (The Thousandth Floor #1) by Katharine McGee

img_3544

“The higher you are. The further you fall.”

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee is the first in a new YA Dystopian series.

 

Synopsis:


the thousandth floorNEW YORK CITY AS YOU’VE NEVER SEEN IT BEFORE.

A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

WELCOME TO MANHATTAN, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. Everyone there wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

LEDA COLE’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

ERIS DODD-RADSON’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

RYLIN MYERS’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will this new life cost Rylin her old one?

WATT BAKRADI is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy for an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is AVERY FULLER, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Amid breathtaking advancement and high-tech luxury, five teenagers struggle to find their place at the top of the world. But when you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down….”


My Review:

Epic Reads does a really great job in living up to its name. This book was AMAZING!! I really didn’t know what to expect going into this book except that it was from HarperTeen.

I did receive this ARC copy while waiting in line for the BEA arc-drops.

Once I picked it up, I knew I wanted to read it right away! For some unknown reason, I was dying to have it be one of the first books that I would pick up this fall.

But anyways…

I ended up flying through it within a few sittings. We start off with what seems as a bunch of random characters that are stuck in this gigantic high-tech town smack in a futuristic New York City.

To be honest, I loved the whole dynamic of the tower. It really symbolically and physically captured the social classes. I don’t know if Katharine McGee meant it to work out like this but with how the tower is built, it is almost as big as the city (AKA many street blocks wide) which is housed the poorer communities. Pretty much the higher you go up the tower, the richer and more isolating the floors become. There are more people in the giant poor society which is secluded from the higher population. Their world is discriminated by what floor number you are on.

As the book progressed, I forgot about the very first chapter which was EPIC. It really wasn’t until the last few chapters that I remembered what the book was based on.

We really have no clue why the characters are in our heads until they finally all come together in one setting. I really enjoyed how this book progressed from a general beginning to one scene encasing it all at the end.

Now the ending. I literally felt so speechless. So much unexpected events poured into each other into this highly planned, perfectly organized mess. It is chaos, then the world just stands still. It took me a few minutes to wrap my head around everything that transpired. This book was just a beautiful tragedy of secrets.

As a reader, I didn’t even know how full of secrets this book was until the last page.

The characters were exhilarating to read. How Book 2 will ever begin is a mystery to me, but I CANNOT WAIT!!! I AM EXCITED to get my hands on it!

I highly recommend this book to everyone. A full 5 out of 5 stars! The plot made me not want to put it down, but when I did, I always kept wanting to continue on. The characters developed very nicely with the plot as well. Such an all-around great book.


More Book Information:

Published: 30 August 2016

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Pages: 448

How I Read It: ARC from BEA 2016


Stay tuned for more bookish posts scattered throughout the week! Don’t miss a post by subscribing below for links to all of the posts as soon as they are released!

You can also follow me on Instagram @treestandbookreviews (*hint hint, I do post more frequently over there, so if you love bookish inspiration, you’ll love the behind-the-scenes of Treestand Book Reviews) or on Twitter @KatsTBReviews!

Happy Reading,

img_4295

Leave a Reply

