Coffee Reads : Fall 2016

img_3573

With every change of the season comes the perfect blend of coffee. We all know fall is the pumpkin explosion and summer is reserved for the fruits, but what about the other 300 days of the year?If you are looking for a new kick to your cup, COFFEE READS is here to help!

Inspired by the seasons and the love of books, these recipes are perfect to add to your early morning routine. ‘Cause is you are anything like me, some mornings are a little hard to get out of bed before the sun.

Unfortunately for me, I live 30 minutes from the nearest Starbucks or coffee shop, so getting coffee is like a trip to heaven. I never was a fan of coffee until 2 years ago when I stumbled into a Starbucks one chilly evening. And of course, I fell in love ever since.

img_3591

With my growing love of coffee drinks, my bank account has slowly learned to hate me. Even though I still only go to Starbucks about once every week or two, I was finding that with my other expensive obligations, I would have to pass on reloading that faithful Gold Card.

Why I never thought of this before, I couldn’t tell ya, but recently I’ve found myself thinking “Why don’t I just make my own coffee drink?”

Now I’m not one for the plain, bitter drink. I love my drinks with lots of milk, sugar, and syrup (which is why it can get a lil’ expensive) mixed with tons of espresso. But even though I still enjoy my Starbucks trips, I wanted to be able to have a cheaper, yummy version I could make every morning to help brush away the 5am sleep.

So that’s where this post was born!

Like I said, every season comes with a new coffee menu. So COFFEE READS is where I will share some of my favorite seasonal or new coffee recipes along with a few YA books that you can bring along to your at-home brewery or to take to Starbucks for your daily me-time. Cause who doesn’t bring a book to get coffee 🙂

img_3461

I’ll be posing a new segment every season (Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter) to help spice up your cup. Now you won’t have to be bored with the same ol’ pot every day.

 

Trying to get into coffee? These recipes are also great to get you used to the bitter taste. Trust me, how do you think I got into coffee drinks? They’re great for the coffee addict and newbie alike.

If you have any recipes of your won you’d like to share, leave a comment anytime and maybe you’ll see your cup features! 🙂

So stay tuned for some yummy Fall recipes:


 

 

 

 

img_3816

While drinking this…

img_3842

Read this…

tales of the peculiar.jpg

Synopsis:

Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales.

Wealthy cannibals who dine on the discarded limbs of peculiars. A fork-tongued princess. These are but a few of the truly brilliant stories in Tales of the Peculiar—the collection of fairy tales known to hide information about the peculiar world, including clues to the locations of time loops—first introduced by Ransom Riggs in his #1 bestselling Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.

Riggs now invites you to share his secrets of peculiar history, with a collection of original stories in this deluxe volume of Tales of the Peculiar. Featuring stunning illustrations from world-renowned artist Andrew Davidson, this compelling, rich, and truly peculiar anthology is the perfect gift for not only fans, but for all lovers of great storytelling.“

More Book Information:

Published: 3 September 2016

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 192


While drinking this…

img_3881

Read this…

three dark

Synopsis:

Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

If only it was that simple. Katharine is unable to tolerate the weakest poison, and Arsinoe, no matter how hard she tries, can’t make even a weed grow. The two queens have been shamefully faking their powers, taking care to keep each other, the island, and their powerful sister Mirabella none the wiser. But with alliances being formed, betrayals taking shape, and ruthless revenge haunting the queens’ every move, one thing is certain: the last queen standing might not be the strongest…but she may be the darkest.“

More Book Information:

Published: 20 September 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 416


While drinking this…

img_3893

Read this…

future shock

Synopsis:

What do you do when the future is too late, and the present is counting down to an inevitable moment?

Elena Martinez has street smarts, the ability for perfect recall, and a deadline: if she doesn’t find a job before she turns eighteen, she’ll be homeless. But then she gets an unexpected offer from Aether Corporation, the powerful Los Angeles tech giant. Along with four other recruits—Adam, Chris, Trent, and Zoe—Elena is being sent on a secret mission to bring back data from the future. All they have to do is get Aether the information they need, and the five of them will be set for life. It’s an offer Elena can’t refuse.

But something goes wrong when the time travelers arrive in the future. And they are forced to break the only rule they were given—not to look into their own fates. Now they have twenty-four hours to get back to the present and find a way to stop a seemingly inevitable future—and a murder—from happening. But changing the timeline has deadly consequences too. Who can Elena trust as she fights to save her life?

The first book in an unforgettable series about rewriting your destiny in the city of dreams.“

More Book Information:

Published: 1 April 2016

Publisher: Aw Teen

Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi

Pages: 272

My Review – 4 Stars


Want more recipes? Coffee Reads will be featured the first Saturday every three months – August, November, February, and May

Subscribe below to stay up-to-date with links to all of my posts straight to your inbox! Just click or enter your email address below to receive the latest from Treestand Book Reviews.

Thank y’all for taking the time to read my book blog!

Happy Reading,

img_3414

2 thoughts on “Coffee Reads : Fall 2016

Leave a Reply

