The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E. Pearson

img_3544

If you thought you loved The Kiss of Deception, you will LOVE what comes next!

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson is the sequel in The Remnant Chronicle YA Fantasy series.

heart of betrayal.jpgSynopsis:


Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny. “


My Review:

This book.

If you are looking for a book that will leave you satisfied, walk away now. ‘Cause this book will take your heart and twist it.

As we saw in The Kiss of Deception, the writing style is beautiful.Β I jumped right into this book, and I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. This book adds on to the first and does not disappoint.

We come back into the world immediately where Book 1 left off, and from there, the betrayal just keeps on coming. What I really love about this series so far is that we never know what will happen next.Β  It feels like we are given just enough information to think that the characters will go one way when in fact, BOOM, the characters take a totally opposite turn. Nothing in this series is what you think will happen.

I loved how in this book we get to see two sides of the war-spectrum: the “good” guys and the “bad” guys. It humanizes the idea of what truly is good and what is considered bad. As she gets used to her new situation, we see a lot of this mental battle happening which I loved reading. I definitely found myself rooting for both sides in certain parts of the story.

But let me tell ya. The Komizar.

This man REALLY let a bombshell explode that even I was thrown back by. I could feel my heart pound and my stomach drop. I can’t say any more, so you’ll just HAVE TO READ IT!!

The character development was yet again exceptional. I caught myself going back and forth on who Lia truly wanted to be with, and who was on which side. Along with the plot, I was constantly kept on my toes. Which led to a very high 5 out of 5 stars for me. Hands down. There weren’t any slow parts in this book. It captured strength, determination, betrayal, love, and the power of choices. The ending will leave you speechless and in awe.Β I highly recommend this series for everyone!

The Kiss of Deception was deceptive. The Heart of Betrayal was betrayed. I can’t wait to see how The Beauty of Darkness will turn out. πŸ™‚


More Book Information:

Published: 7 July 2015

Publisher: Henry Holt & Co

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 470

How I Read It: Hardcover


Stick around for more YA books, OR you can subscribe below to have view my posts straight from your inbox!

Follow me on Instagram @treestandbookreviews and Twitter @KatsTBReviews for more bookish fun!

img_3412

Happy Reading,

img_3414

2 thoughts on “The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E. Pearson

Leave a Reply

