The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

img_2490

Looking for a contemporary with ALL the feels?

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout is a young adult contemporary that will do just that.

problem with foreverSynopsis:


For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.“


My Review:

I really enjoyed this book. From the character development to the emotional feels, this book captivated me.

Mallory, the main character, is a girl struggling with PTSD from a rather rough childhood.  We don’t know much about her past at first. I loved how the author only allowed small snip-bits of the past so we can progressively understand how we see her in that moment. It isn’t until the end of the book that we get to see the full picture of all that she had to go through in that home. It helped me to stay in touch with what was going on and it made me wonder why she acted the way she did (which we realize in the final few chapters).

The character development nicely progressed from beginning to end. She became a whole new person from cover to cover. Definitely a story of strength. Her actions just come to show how the little stuff that makes us who we are become important tools early on in our lives.

There are a ton of twists and turns she goes through in her journey to find who she is. I felt sad, angry, happy, ecstatic, frustrated, and torn. All within the 480 pages. But this isn’t told to make you feel sorry for her. The events are to show how her life was formed, and that YOU can choose who YOU want to become. This book was inspirational.

Which led me to an easy 5 out of 5 stars. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book to everyone. This wasn’t a soft (mooshy) or hard (dark) contemporary. It was the perfect balance to me.

The writing style was relaxed and fast. I was engrossed to read the entire book in just a few days. I haven’t read any other of Jennifer’s books, but The Problem with Forever was beautifully written, and I hope she continues this style into her other books. I felt 1,000 different feels while reading this book.

No joke! When I finished the book, I quickly ran to my mom and told her she needed to dive into it right away.

With less than 100 pages left, all I could say was “Oh. My. God. Oh. My. God.” Things got real. It was hard to put this book, so I kept reading it.. even during dinner (which I never do).

But I’d love to know how y’all thought about this book! Leave your thoughts in the comment bubble below 🙂


More Book Information:

Published: 17 May 2016

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Pages: 480

How I Read It: ARC received at BEA 2016 from Publisher


Stay tuned for more book reviews and bookish posts! Subscribe below and help spread the adventures of reading. Thank y’all for the support 🙂

Happy Reading,

img_1805

Leave a Reply

