The Other Side of Gravity (Oxygen #1) by Shelly Crane

img_2490

What would you do for those you love?

If you loved reading Divergent by Veronica Roth, READ THIS! 🙂

The Other Side of Gravity (Oxygen #1) by Shelly Crane is a young adult dystopia where society is sanctioned on another planet.

the other side of gravitySynopsis:


My name is Maxton and I’m a trader.

I live on a soulless planet where gravity, oxygen, and everything else are sold to the highest bidder on the black market. People are sold on the black market, too. You have to work really hard not to become one of those people. Pay your taxes, keep your friends and family close, and more than anything else—don’t get caught by the Militia. But all the rules changed for me the day I found her.

My name is Sophelia and I’m a stowaway.

I’ve been a slave for almost as long as I can remember. Waiting for the one day, one second, for my proprietor to turn his head so I could run and never look back. Now I’m on the run. And on a planet where no one is on your side and people would turn you in for a good meal or a piece of a silver, being on the run on Landu is the last place you want to be. Until he found me.

I won’t survive without him.

I can’t breathe without her. ”


My Review:

This book kind of surprised me a little. I requested this from NetGalley awhile ago, so I forgot what the plot was about, but I’m glad I didn’t look back at the synopsis before reading.

First thing first, I found the main character, Sophelia, enchanting to read. Even though she grew up in slavery AND had to go through a lot of crap, she wasn’t portrayed as being either too tough for herself or too overcome by her past. She has a very realistic quality to her development, especially once she meets Maxton.

There was a lot of realism in the story as well as through the plot twists. We get to see the struggle between selfishness and helping others.  Maxton is especially guilty of this as you will see PLENTY of times. He shows his fight within himself multiple times as he keeps going against her and then feeling bad for doing it. I found this to be a great book because of it.- P.S.: This has two points of view from Maxton and Sophelia.

Another aspect about this book is that there is a ton of emotion in the writing. Between the slavery and the poverty, we get to see the effects society experiences under their government. Not only do the citizens have to deal with not enough food or money, but they also struggle with life’s essentials such as oxygen AND gravity.

The dystopian world leaves so much opportunity for the next book that I would love to see continue.

I give this book a solid 5 out of 5 stars. There are romantic elements in this book, but it doesn’t overpower the story, AND thankfully there isn’t insta-love to be found (cause to me, that makes a boring story).

Great concept. Great start to a series.

BUT there is a MAJOR cliffhanger at the end that I wanted to pull my hair out when I got to…….


More Book Information:

Published: 15 March 2016

Publisher: Kiss Me Publicatior

Genre: Young Adult Dystopia

Pages: 249

How I Read It: eBook from publisher


**Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  All of my posts are of my opinion only.**

Stay tuned for more books coming soon! Subscribe below and help spread the word of these great titles!

Happy Reading,

img_1805

Leave a Reply

