June 2016 Monthly Reads

Who’s ready for the long, hot days in the sun with a stack of books at your side??

For this month, I picked five YA books that I am really excited for.  While a few are about to be released later this month, I found the rest of the pile while browsing through my favorite store, Barnes and Noble.  Enjoy!


1.The King Slayer (The Witch Hunter #2) by Virginia Boecker

the king slayer

Synopsis:


“”I think, in time, you’ll either be my greatest mistake or my greatest victory.”

Former witch hunter Elizabeth Grey is hiding within the magically protected village of Harrow, evading the price put on her head by Lord Blackwell, the usurper king of Anglia. Their last encounter left Blackwell ruined, but his thirst for power grows stronger every day. He’s readying for a war against those who would resist his rule–namely Elizabeth and the witches and wizards she now calls her allies.

Having lost her stigma, a magical source of protection and healing, Elizabeth’s strength is tested both physically and emotionally. War always means sacrifice, and as the lines between good and evil blur once more, Elizabeth must decide just how far she’ll go to save those she loves.

“[Filled] with everything a good fantasy book needs: swords, poison, black magic, and betrayal.”–April Tucholke, author of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, on The Witch Hunter


More Book Information:

Published: 14 June 2016

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 368


2.My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

my lady jane.jpg

Synopsis:


The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.


At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England. “


More Book Information:

Published: 7 June 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Historical Fantasy

Pages: 512


3. Burning by Danielle Rollins

burning.jpg

Synopsis:


After three years in juvie, Angela Davis is just a few months shy of release, and she’ll finally be free from the hole that is Brunesfield Correctional Facility. Then Jessica arrives. Only ten years old and under the highest security possible, this girl has to be dangerous, even if no one knows what she did to land in juvie. As strange things begin happening to Angela and her friends that can only be traced to the new girl’s arrival, it becomes clear that Brunesfield is no longer safe. They must find a way to get out, but how can they save themselves when the world has forgotten them?


More Book Information:

Published: 5 April 2016

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Pages: 352


4. The Dark Missions of Edgar Brim (The Dark Missions of Edgar Brim #1) by Shane Peacock

edgar brim.jpg

Synopsis:


The first in a gripping new gothic trilogy from an acclaimed author, for fans of Ken Oppel’s This Dark Endeavor and Such Wicked Intent and HBO’s Penny Dreadful series.


Edgar Brim is a sensitive orphan who, exposed to horror stories from his father as a young child, is afraid of almost everything and suffers from nightly terrors. His stern new guardian, Mr. Thorne, sends the boy to a gloomy school in Scotland where his dark demons only seem to worsen and he is bullied and ridiculed for his fears. But years later, when sixteen-year-old Edgar finds a journal belonging to his novelist father, he becomes determined to confront his nightmares and the bullies who taunt him. After the horrific death of a schoolmate, Edgar becomes involved with an eccentric society at the urging of a mysterious professor who believes that monsters from famous works of literature are real and whose mandate is to find and destroy these creatures. With the aid of a rag-tag crew of friends, the fear-addled teen sets about on his dark mission, one that begins in the cemetery on the bleak Scottish moors and ends in a spine-chilling climax on the stage of the Royal Lyceum Theatre in London with Henry Irving, the infamous and magnetic actor, and his manager, Bram Stoker, the author of the most frightening and sensational novel of the day, Dracula. Can Edgar Brim truly face his terror and conquer his fears?”


More Book Information:

Published: 3 May 2016

Publisher: Tundra Books

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 352


5. Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

queen of hearts

Synopsis:


As Princess of Wonderland Palace and the future Queen of Hearts, Dinah’s days are an endless monotony of tea, tarts, and a stream of vicious humiliations at the hands of her father, the King of Hearts. The only highlight of her days is visiting Wardley, her childhood best friend, the future Knave of Hearts — and the love of her life.

When an enchanting stranger arrives at the Palace, Dinah watches as everything she’s ever wanted threatens to crumble. As her coronation date approaches, a series of suspicious and bloody events suggests that something sinister stirs in the whimsical halls of Wonderland. It’s up to Dinah to unravel the mysteries that lurk both inside and under the Palace before she loses her own head to a clever and faceless foe.

Part epic fantasy, part twisted fairy tale, this dazzling saga will have readers shivering as Dinahs furious nature sweeps Wonderland up in the maelstrom of her wrath.

Familiar characters such as Cheshire, the White Rabbit, and the Mad Hatter make their appearance, enchanting readers with this new, dark take on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. “


More Book Information:

Published: 3 May 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Re-telling

Pages: 320


One of these titles I received from BEA this year so you will be seeing my review pretty soon!

I hope y’all enjoyed, and stay tuned for another bookish post tomorrow!

Happy Reading,

img_1805

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s