Flawed (Flawed #1) by Cecelia Ahern

What would you do if you lived in a society where one wrong move would brand you for life?

img_2490

flawed.jpgFlawed (Flawed #1) by Cecelia Ahern is the first in a young adult dystopian series.

Synopsis:


You will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.


My Review:

This book was a very quick read for me. I absolutely loved the synopsis of the story along with the main character.  We get to meet this strong female named Celestine North who is stuck in a society that values perfection. She is struggling between what is truly right and wrong and what the world has been trained, by the government, to see as right and wrong.  But of course, these two views are completely different which forces her to get into some crazy situations without meaning to.

The writing style was very nicely done.  I felt like I was watching a movie in my head and not just reading from a page.  This book will make you have the feels, but not particularly in a sad way.  Some characters made me wish the author would make them vanish while still rooting for others.  There is a particular chapter where some characters are brutal  which may be sensitive to certain people if you don’t like reading about slight physical brutality.  But overall, I think it adds to the story and helps to bring in your emotions into the world. The book has a nice balance of discovering what is actually morally right and wrong which also adds to the story’s draw.

I definitely give this book 5 out of 5 stars.  I felt so drawn into the story that there were times when I had to wake up and remember I was reading on a train.  The plot twists are drawn out in the right moments and the characters are written with vastly different personalities.  There is a little bit of romance in here, but the author doesn’t make it the absolute focus which I liked.  This is definitely a story about the struggles of society and the rebellions that can arise for the right causes.  I recommend this book to everyone!


More Book Information:

Published: 5 April 2016

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Genre: Young Adult Dystopia

Pages: 336

How I Read It: eBook from NetGalley


**Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher through NetGalley.  All of my reviews, including this one, include my opinions only, and I was not asked or forced to say anything.**

Thanks for your support and subscribe below!

Happy Reading,

img_1805

2 thoughts on “Flawed (Flawed #1) by Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

