A Madness so Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Have YOU gone mad?…

img_2215

 

madnessA Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis is a young adult psycological thriller that will question sanity.

Synopsis:


Grace Mae knows madness.

She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.

In this beautifully twisted historical thriller, Mindy McGinnis, acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, explores the fine line between sanity and insanity, good and evil—and the madness that exists in all of us.”


My Review:

 When I started reading this book, I was really confused.  We find the main character stuck in an asylum trying to figure out all of the chaos around her.  But I think my confusion added to the story’s experience.  I mean, we are drawn into the world of crazy, right? After a few chapters, I started to understand what was going on, but I will say that there were a few iffy spots throughout the plot for me where I felt like I had no clue what was going on.

The characters developed nicely throughout the story.  Grace, the main character, is wrongly thrown into the Boston asylum which develops her into someone who we perceive to be vastly different by the end of this first installment.  We also experience various participants of the asylum and get a sneak peek into their “crazy” minds. If you are looking for characters that will make you think twice about who they are, this is the book you will want to pick up. There are definitely ALOT of creepy characters.

The plot will draw you in throughout the whole book.  Even though what is going on may be confusing the main points that happen will make you want to finish and see what happens. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars because of the confusing parts.  The idea and events that happen really helped me to finish the book. I will say that the ending is not what I expected, but at the same time, I feel like it took on a realistic turn than most books I think would have taken.  Overall, this was a fun read, and I would recommend this to anyone who loves to read about asylums and the effects events can have on the mind.


More Book Information:

Published: 6 October 2015

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Young Adult Historical Thriller

Pages: 376

How I Read It: Hardcover


Stay tuned for more bookish posts coming soon!

Happy Reading,

img_1805

Leave a Reply

