Interview with B. Truly!

Happy Bookish Monday!

Today I have a special post for y’all that will bring an insight into the life of the author of the Sonar series! Today I have the lovely pleasure to interview B. Truly.

 

img_1678

For those of you who may have read through my review of Sonar The Crashing (Sonar #1), I really enjoyed reading into the world of New Adult genre through her writing!  Without further delay… Enjoy!


Native Cover.4258932.inddMy Interview with B. Truly

Kat: Tell us a little bit about yourself and your background.

B. Truly: I work as an ultrasound technologist in Sugarland, Texas. I have been doing this field for almost 16 years, and I enjoy interacting with people.      I have three wonderful children and a husband who defines the person I am today. Writing has been my passion, for as long as I can remember. I love creating stories in my spare time.


Kat: What led you to decide to write your own book(s)? Did you always know you wanted to, or was the idea a growing thought?

B. Truly: I have wanted to be an author since I was fifteen years old. I had some ideas one day and began writing them down. From there, it grew into a novel.


Kat: Why did you choose to go the New Adult route?

B. Truly: I love reading characters between the ages of 18-21. The 1st New Adult book that I read was Beautiful Disaster, and I fell in love with it. New Adult is a great balance of that age group, but has adult elements. That is why I like writing in New Adult. 


Kat: For those who may not have read into New Adult, how would you describe the genre?

B. Truly: My favorite character age group to read are between the ages (18-21). But I like reading books that are a bit steamier than YA. New Adult is the perfect combination of both. That is why I chose to write my 1st series in New Adult. 


Kat: Your main characters experience memory loss and the struggle to re-discover themselves. What led you or influenced this idea as one of your main plot points of the story?

B. Truly: I have always had a fascination with amnesia. I also like love triangles. Roswell is one of my all-time favorite TV shows. That show helped to inspirer some of the love triangle ideas for book #1 in the Sonar Series.      A lot of Sci-fi/Fantasy TV shows, movies, and books always talk about the being’s planet. Most don’t actually show you much from their world. I wanted to explore the concept where, not only do the characters talk about and have memories of their planet. But readers also get a chance to experience their world.


Kat: Sonar The Crashing is the first book in a series, and I know there is aSonar the cyclone novella as well. In what order would you think your readers would benefit most from the series?

B. Truly: The order of The Sonar Series is: 

  1. Sonar The Crashing is book #1
  2. Melanie’s Evanescent Journey #1.5 (This is the companion novel for the series. This novel ties into books 1 & 2 of the series.)
  3. Sonar The Cyclone # 2
  4. Sonar The Surge #3 

Kat: Once the Sonar series is completed, will you continue to publish books? If so, would you continue in New Adult or venture into other possibilities?

B. Truly: Yes, I will continue to write in New Adult. I also have a future Adult, Sci-fi series, The Pulse Series. But the next series that I publish, will probably be my Ruby of Light YA series. This is a series about a brother and sister who are half-human, half-fairy. They are threatened once their existence is discovered. Then they are spiraled into a world that they never knew existed.


Kat: What can we expect in Sonar The Cyclone? (Non-Spoiler stuff: ex. More steamy romances, lots of plot twists, etc)

B. Truly: In Sonar The Cyclone there is definitely more steamy romance. Cyclone focuses more on Syira’s struggles with her forbidden love. When Cyclone starts they are in the calm. But soon the war with their neighboring planet, Polaris will escalate.


Kat: If you could explain this series in one sentence, what would it be?

B. Truly: Hum, that’s a hard question, since each book focuses on slightly different aspects. The overall concept would probably be this:

     Love and family is what the Romelands value most. But through heartache and pain, trials and loss, they learn that destiny is in the hands of what they behold.


Kat: What was the toughest part of the publishing process of Sonar The Crashing?

B. Truly: The toughest part was learning the process and steps to publishing.


Thanks for reading, and I hope to see y’all back for more Bookish Posts!

Stay tuned by subscribing below for updates!

Happy Reading,

img_1496-1

Leave a Reply

