Sonar The Crashing by B. Truly

Hey everybody!  Guess who just read their first New Adult book?Sonar The Crashing (Sonar #1) by B. Truly is a new adult fantasy romance you won’t want to miss!

Native Cover.4258932.inddOfficial Synopsis:


“Is it more than déjà vu? With the Romeland family it may be destined to be true.

Life on Earth is not the only place where devastation occurs and hard choices must be made. The Royal 4 of Kadan live in the Sonar galaxy, three hundred million light years from Earth. They travel to Earth to obtain the resources that they need to give their world a fighting chance. Their mission is compromised and they’re faced with life changing events.
The mind is a complex mystery. Syira struggles with who she has become and the strange dreams that start to unfold. With no memory of her past, Syira wonders if it’s more than a dream, or is it déjà vu? When secrets unravel in her life, it’s a chaotic cyclone.

Shiray is frantic when she is the first to discover their true destiny and that the love of her life no longer remembers who she is. Shiray has to determine if she will fight for him or let him go. Either choice holds consequences, but she must find a way to restore her family before all is lost. They must prevail because the fate of their planet lies in their hands.”


My Review:

With this book being my first new adult novel, I wasn’t too sure on how I would stand on the more romance-heavy reading.  After talking to B. Truly, I received a little bit of a better understanding of what New Adult entails.  The genre is just the next step between Young Adult and Adult.  So I gave this book and genre a shot.  And I’m glad I did!

When I started to read the first chapter, I thought I wasn’t going to enjoy it as much as I had anticipated.  I will say that I thought the writing was a little different than what I initially thought, but that was just because the author has a drawn-out way of writing.  The writing-style wasn’t bad in any way.  It was just different for me.  She seemed to over-explain some things which felt a little boring at times, but as I dived deeper into the story this aspect wasn’t as noticeable because I was so CAPTURED BY WHAT WAS HAPPENING!

It wasn’t until the ending of the first major plot shift that I realized she was recalling a flashback the entire time!  The story had me extremely captivated.  I loved the love story that Shiray and Bryan experienced.  They were drawn out so carefully and they developed in a way that felt real.  Even though it happened quickly, they experienced struggles that I think can be applied outside of a fictional story.  The plot as a whole I think was very brilliantly detailed and written in a way that felt like I was connected to the story on many levels.

When it comes to the story as a whole, the romance does not overwhelm what is really happening outside of the relationships.  I think there is a great balance of romance and fantasy plotlines.  We follow two plotlines from the perspectives of Shiray and Syira which I thought really helped divide all of the conflicts without feeling like the story was too busy.  There was the perfect amount of action and romance.

I definitely look forward to the next two books to see how the characters continue to develop.  I think the ending of Sonar The Crashing was not a cliffhanger, but it will leave you wanting more.  I will say that since this is New Adult, there are some more adult-based scenes, but if you are looking for something romantic and a little stronger than Young Adult then this would be a perfect book to start with.  I am glad this was my first New Adult book! It felt like Young Adult but with a steamy twist 🙂

This book definitely deserves the full 4 out of 5 stars!  The only reason it is not 5 out of 5 is due to the writing style which felt a little dull to me, but again, that is MY reading-preference opinion.


More Book Information:

Published: 1 October 2013

Publisher: CreateSpace

Genre: New Adult Fantasy / Romance

Pages: 494

How I Read It: eBook from the Author


**Disclaimer: I received this book from the Author in exchange for an honest opinion.  Like with ALL of my posts, everything is my HONEST opinion only! **


Subscribe below to receive more bookish posts straight to your inbox! Thank you for all of the support!

Happy Reading,

IMG_1219-0

2 thoughts on “Sonar The Crashing by B. Truly

Leave a Reply

