The Martian by Andy Weir

Would you be able to survive alone on Mars?

the martianThe Martian by Andy Weir is a science fiction that will blow you away!

Official Synopsis:


“Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’ surface, completely alone, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive — and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark’s not ready to quit. Armed with nothing but his ingenuity and his engineering skills — and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength – he embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive, using his botany expertise to grow food and even hatching a mad plan to contact NASA back on Earth.

As he overcomes one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next, Mark begins to let himself believe he might make it off the planet alive – but Mars has plenty of surprises in store for him yet.

Grounded in real, present-day science from the first page to the last, yet propelled by a brilliantly ingenious plot that surprises the reader again and again, The Martian is a truly remarkable thriller: an impossible-to-put-down suspense novel that manages to read like a real-life survival tale.”


 

My Review:


This book is amazing! First off, space in general is a fascinating topic to me, so when this book was released I had constantly nudged myself to add the book to my shelf, but for some odd reason I never left the store with it. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I finally came through and bought the book.  Now after reading the last page, I feel like I had absolutely no reason not to have bought it on Day 1 (or SOL 1 hehe).

The first line on the first page drew me into the story immediately.  There has been only a very tiny handful of books that has had such an effect on me, so right off the bat I knew this book would be great one to get into!

The main character Mark’s personality is what I think helped to not make this a depressing, boring, or unadventurous plotline.  He is the type of personality that a person would want while stranded on a deserted planet 5 million miles away from home: humorous. Even the minor character had personalities that made me laugh and cringe from page to page.

Andy Weir has a great way of writing scientific information to an audience who may or may not have a clue what is happening on Mars.  There was never a dull moment even when there were “slower” parts. His writing never felt like he was just giving you an info dump, but instead as a reader you felt like you were learning without even being consciously aware of it happening.

I give The Martian 5 out of 5 stars!


How was the movie in relation to the book?

I can honestly say that I have no clue of another movie that fully embraced it’s book as this combination has done. I finished the book in the morning and then watched the film later that day, so I had the content fresh in my mind.  From the dialogue to the scenes, the movie was the Book almost to perfection.  The book has more information that the movie-goer would be lacking, which is expected, but I will say that as a reader I am completely blown away by the film adaptation.  They did a great job in staying true to Andy Weir’s work.  I give the film adaptation a 5 out of 5 stars.


More Book Information:

Published: 11 February 2014

Publisher: Crown

Genre: Adult Science Fiction

Pages: 369

How I Read It: Paperback


Want more book reviews? Subscribe below to receive links to all of my blog posts! Thank you so much for your support of Young Adult books!

Happy Reading,

IMG_1108

One thought on “The Martian by Andy Weir

Leave a Reply

