The Suffering by Rin Chupeco

The Suffering by Rin Chupeco is the sequel in the terrifying The Girl from the Well series.  This is definitely a series that you will not want to read in the dark because trust me when I say that you may think you are not scared, but just wait…

the sufferingIf you love horror stories with Japanese influences, this is your next book!  I absolutely loved the first book from cover to cover.  You can find my full review of The Girl from the Well by clicking HERE!

I felt like The Suffering had less of the creepy factor than the first book, but all in all I still cringed.  I told myself that I was going to be OK reading this at 1 in the morning.  Nope.  By the time I told myself to put the book down I felt a little creeped out.  If you are trying to find a book to read around Halloween this is a high recommendation for me.

Rin Chupeco does an amazing job in balancing the paranormal realm with the every day life for the characters.  She writes the story to where it engulfs you to the point where your heart begins to race along with the main characters.  I also love how she brings an element of karma to her plot.  Even though the book is full of gory murders, dismembered ghosts, and creepy rituals, there is a sense of right and wrong through Tark and Okiku that we begin to see more of in this book.

I enjoyed reading this story, but not as well as I liked the first book.  I felt like there could have been more of the horror aspect to the story.  There weren’t as many of the ghost scenes as there were in the first book which I enjoyed.  But, the scenes that are included are just as heart pumping.  I gave The Suffering 4 out of 5 stars.  I just wasn’t as “Wowed” as I was in the first book, but at the same time, I really enjoyed reading it.  I ended up getting so immersed that I finished the book in a little over two sittings.  Definitely a must-read, spine-chilling sequel!


More Book Information:

Published: 1 September 2015

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Pages: 272

How I Read It: Paperback


About the Author:

Despite uncanny resemblances to Japanese revenants, Rin Chupeco has always maintained her sense of humor. Raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. She’s been a technical writer and travel blogger, but now makes things up for a living. Connect with Rin at www.rinchupeco.com.

Social Networking Links:

Website: http://www.rinchupeco.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RinChupeco


*Disclaimer: I was asked by the publisher to give my honest opinion of the book.  Everything I write is my opinion only and is not influenced in any way.

Stay tuned for more horror reviews coming your way!  You can subscribe to my blog through the box below to receive free links to all of my posts straight to your inbox.  Thanks for all of you support!

Happy Reading,

IMG_0168

Leave a Reply

