Trollhunters by Guillermo del Toro and Daniel Kraus

Trollhunters by Guillermo del Toro and Daniel Kraus is a young adult novel about children who have gone missing in what they call “The Milk Carton Epidemic.”

trollhuntersJim’s uncle just happened to be one of the children who were snatched up long decades ago.  His father became devastated after he was walking around with his brother and soon came upon a dark, creepy bridge.  Something happened under that bridge that would change Jim’s father for the worse..

Years after that event, we follow Jim as he struggles through his everyday life being one of the not-so-popular kids.  But all of a sudden, he begins to feel eerie.  Is something following him?  What was that over there in the dark?  And his father doesn’t help as he has become too strict in house rules (especially the insane alarm system on the house). With his best friend Tub, they venture into the darkness and soon wish they hadn’t.

This book is hilarious.  There were many times where the dry humor of the two main characters actually made me laugh out loud.  Tub is the kind of kid you would see in tv shows as the clumsy, yet funny, sidekick that everyone loves to watch.  The two of them really work off of each other that makes the book have a comedic spin to it which I think is great for middle-grade kids to read.

There were parts in the middle of the book that I felt were slow and boring.  It involved a lot of world-building during those parts which I can see why it was a little bland.  The content of the book is interesting and entertaining. The idea of trolls and how different they are to humans was fun to imagine.  Also, throughout the book there are illustrations that help readers get a great view of how the world looks.

Overall, this book is a 3 out of 5 star rating for me.  Even though it was a fun book to read, there were the boring parts that took away from my experience.  I think that if I were back to my middle-grade years, this young adult book would be a great one to be introduced to.  I fell like this book could apply more to middle-grade than young adult readers, but it is a good book for any age.  There are aspects of bullying, friendship, and troll hunting that can help relate to that age group better. I think my favorite part of the book was Tub. He just has that personality that you can’t help but love.


More Book Information:

Published : 30 June 2015

Publisher : Hot Key Books

Genre : Young Adult Fantasy / Horror

Pages : 336

How I Read it : NetGalley eBook


**Dislaimer : I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  In no way was I asked or persuaded to say any of these things.  They are my opinions.**

Happy Reading,

IMG_0168

Leave a Reply

