Nil by Lynne Matson

Nil by Lynne Matson is a young adult dystopian where an island exists that no one knows about until they are trapped there.

nilAll Charley remembers is burning up. She doesn’t know why or how it happened but only that it did.  One minute she was in the Target parking lot and the next minute she woke up naked among a sea of red rocks.  Now she is stuck trying to survive the mysterious island where there may be lions, tigers, and bears, oh my. But she may not be the only one stuck in this terrifying fate..

After reading the first chapter, I knew this book would keep me intrigued, but I didn’t expect myself to be completely immersed in the story.  As the plot developed, the next thing I knew I had a chunk of the book finished.  The writing style and the characters are easy to follow.  There are a lot of pop culture references that make the book seem more real than a science fiction-y perspective.

The plot in itself was very creative.  The concept of the island and the ways in which people were placed there and the social development that formed left me wanting more.  I did feel like there could have been a lot more world development, but at the same time, that may have been done on purpose.  If the characters don’t exactly know the background of the island neither will we with how the story is told.  Maybe this is something that will be addressed in the second book.  Even though there was a small portion of the history explained it still leaves me with wanting to know the truth.

I had a lot of fun reading this book.  It is a solid 4 out of 5 stars for me.  I am excited to grab the second book to see how it will continue.  The characters’ ending made me feel like if this was only a standalone that I would be fine with it, but the world’s ending jumped to the idea of a second book was out there.  We just don’t know as readers what exactly happened.  The ‘Nil’ left us with a cliffhanger.

This book is a great combination of romance, survival, mystery, and thrill!IMG_0234

If you love the movie Castaway starring Tom Hanks, this is a book that you will want to pick up.  Throughout the entire book, I kept referring to the scenes of Tom Hank’s character on the small island trying everything to stay alive and sane.


More Book Information:

Published : 4 March 2014

Publisher : Henry Holt

Genre : Young Adult Dystopian/Survival/Romance

Pages : 384

How I Read It : Paperback


Nil is the first book in the Nil trilogy.  Book 2 is Nil Unlocked, and Book 3 is Nil on Fire which releases in May of 2016!

Find more book reviews coming soon!  You can subscribe to my blog through the box below to receive free emails of the links to each of my posts as they are released!  Help spread the love of reading YA!

Happy Reading,

IMG_0168

One thought on “Nil by Lynne Matson

Leave a Reply

