The Diviners by Libba Bray

Paranormal meets the 1920s in this young adult thriller.

the divinersThe Diviners by Libba Bray will draw you in to the world of a serial killer loose in New York City.  When a group of kids draw out a ghost using a Ouija board, little do they know that they have summoned a monster.  Evie is a rebellious flapper whose parents send her off to her uncle’s place after an incident at a party which drew too much attention by their small town.  We follow her as horrific events unfold leaving a murder mystery in the works.

This book is amazing!  I first read this book when it came out at my school’s library.  I loved it then as much as I love it now.  The storyline is set through multiple characters that begin to interweave into a master story-plot.  Libba did a great job in keeping you focused through the entire giant book.

If you love the Miss Peregrine series by Ransom Riggs or The Girl from the Well series by Rin Chupeco then this is a perfect series to get into.  I love books that have paranormal elements mixed in.  In The Diviners, we see special powers and ghosts and all sorts of creepy things that will get your heart going.

The characters are so different from each other, yet they compliment each other through their development.  This helped to make the reading experience enjoyable for me so I wasn’t bored in any parts.  The dialect was very unique to the time period.  I don’t know much about the time period of the flappers and the 1920 lingo, but if I had to guess, I would say that it was accurate.  Definitely a 5 out of 5 star book for me!


More Book Information:

Published : 18 September 2012

Publisher : Brown Books for Young Readers

Genre : Young Adult Paranormal Thriller

Pages : 592

How I Read It : Hardcover with original cover design


The (frustratingly) long-awaited sequel, Lair of Dreams, is coming out next week on 25 August 2015!  I will have a review of that book once I receive the pre-order.

Happy Reading,

IMG_0168

2 thoughts on “The Diviners by Libba Bray

Leave a Reply

