Bookish Monday (#17) : Bout of Books 14!

It’s finally here!  Bout of Books 14 began this morning at 12:00 am no matter which time zone you are currently in.

For those who may be wondering what ‘Bout of Books’ is, here is the official blurb from the read-a-thon’s creators!


BoB14-200x200The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team


I began participating in this read-a-thon back in May of this year which was so much fun!  If you want to know my progress throughout that entire week click HERE.

What I love about this particular one is that there is zero pressure to finish a certain amount of books or pages.  You can set goals for yourself, but I personally like to keep it open-ended.  I just pick up whichever book I am in the mood for and read until I get tired! 🙂 Having an excuse to tune the world out and do what I love makes reading that much more fun.

This last Bout of Books was the first and only read-a-thon I have actively participated in, so I don’t know exactly how this one stands up to others, but I will say that I recommend this week to EVERYONE!

My Goals:

I will not have a set number of pages or books that I need to accomplish, but I hope to maybe finish three or more books.  I won’t knock myself if I do not reach this, but at the same time, I would be very happy to check off a bunch of books in my TBR pile.  Whatever happens, happens..

I did complete a book last night, so I will be starting fresh today for the page and book count.

What will you see:

I will be posting daily updates throughout the entire read-a-thon starting tomorrow for today’s (Monday’s) update.  Next Monday, you will also find a wrap-up post on what I accomplished and what the final counts were, so stay tuned!

When will this be:

If you missed it in the description, Bout of Books 14 runs from Monday August 17th @ 12:00am to Sunday August 23rd @ 11:59pm.  No matter what day or time it is, you can start reading whenever you have the chance!  (Even if you started on Sunday night)

What do you need to do to participate:

READ! ..that’s it.. You do not need to let anyone know if you are participating unless you wanted to be in the running for their giveaway / challenges / grand prize.

I hope you all give this fun week a try!  You can leave comments throughout the week of your own accomplishments or thoughts on what books you are reading.  You can also leave links to your blog/channel if you are also participating.

Happy Reading!

IMG_0168

7 thoughts on “Bookish Monday (#17) : Bout of Books 14!

Leave a Reply

