Owlcrate Unboxing!! : June 2015 Edition

20150622_174711

I’m sorry for the delay on this post.  I have been super busy between my long hours at work and all the other stuff that I gotta do to get through my days.  This Owlcrate arrived Monday afternoon, but better late than never right??  I also hope to try to get more posts done throughout the week with all of my bookish ideas attached, so fingers (and TOES) crossed 🙂

Pictures

This month’s Owlcrate theme was: DIVERSITY!  The main focus was to add a little something different to what most readers usually take on when choosing a book.  Throughout the entire month, I have been trying to guess what the book’s selection was going to be.. and lets just say I was off.

I was thinking that the book was going to possibly be Simon vs the Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, but I later found out that this was not the case when @Owlcrate on Instagram posted a picture with a few diverse books that WOULD NOT be the chosen one.  So for the last week or so, I had no clue what it was going to be.

But, Harry saved my wandering mind when I came home from a long day of work to find him perched on my front porch! (To say the least, it made my day lol. I love getting bookish mail 🙂 ) Thankfully the box wasn’t ruined due to the extreme downpours we had witnessed that day.  I was a little nervous when I realized I no one would be home when the owl (postal guy) arrived.  Here is my unboxing experience for the June 2015 box!:  **P.S. sorry for some of the blurry pictures.  I didn’t notice it until I was editing them**

20150622_174738

When I first saw Owlcrate, I fell in love with the box.  Potterheads unite! I gotta say that this company has the best packaging.

The first thing I see after opening is obviously the information card.  For those who may be receiving their first Owlcrate, here is a big piece of advice: DO NOT FLIP OVER THIS CARD!  It tells you exactly what all of the goodies are.  I would make this the last thing that you look at.

20150622_174823

After all of the fringy pieces of paper, I see the first bookish item.  At first I had no clue what it was.  I thought I was looking at a broken baton… then after moving to the next piece, I realized it was the holder for the cool Harry Potter themed banner.  For those who are extreme Potterheads, you will get the (kinda) inside reason why this fits into diversity.  For those who may not get it : MARRIAGE EQUALITY –> Muggles vs. Magical folk marriage!  When I saw this I was laughing at how perfect this fit the theme.  My mom had no clue what was going on with me.  (She doesn’t watch Harry Potter that much)  Blank stares all the way.  This item is homemade from Appraising Pages.

20150622_174837

Under the banner was this pair of earring studs that read: Read More / Diverse Books.  They are from an Etsy shop called Snark Factory, and they were custom designed for the Owlcrate box.  This is one of the cool features of the Owlcrate company; they will get exclusive, one-of-a-kind bookish items for their boxes!

20150622_174855

The next item was this pair of brightly colored ‘I-don’t-even-know-what-they-are-called’ wings for your shoes.  All you do is lace your shoe laces into the holes on the wings and you can have superhero-like feet. The rainbow color ties into the theme for the month.  I don’t know if I will ever use these, but they are a fun thing to have.  They are Shwings in the color ‘Rainbow’.

20150622_174849

Finally, this month’s featured book is…..

20150622_174909

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.  This book is set in the streets of the Bronx as we meet Aaron Soto.  He may not have grown up in the nicest area, with the most money, or with the greatest friends, but one summer will change his life forever.  He may not be the Aaron that he himself knew just a few months ago.  This book focuses on the ideas of class, race, and sexuality.  This is Adam Silvera’s debut novel, and it seems to be a good one.  The reviews of this book on Goodreads show high hopes!

20150622_175010

Along with the book, the box includes two exclusive items in promotion for the book.  The first was a giant poster in companion to the novel, and the second was a temporary tattoo!  Both of these items are exclusive to the box as well.

20150622_175112

Well ladies and gentlemen, this is the Diverse Owlcrate box for June 2015!  There is a bunch of great stuff in this one, and I cannot wait for July’s!  Have you guys received your boxes yet?  Link your blog/channel below so we can catch your reactions!

Subscribe to my blog through the box below to have an email sent to your inbox when new posts are added!  It’s 100% free, and helps to spread the news.  Feel free to forward it to all your friends and family 🙂

Like looking at pictures?  Follow me on Instagram @treestandbookreviews for exclusive bookish photos!

Happy Reading!

wpid-collage-2015-04-30-10_08_47.jpg.jpeg

One thought on “Owlcrate Unboxing!! : June 2015 Edition

Leave a Reply

