Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Looking for a new fantasy series to get into?

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas is the first in a series about an assassin who is thrown into a competition to become the king’s Champion.  Not only has the king destroyed and conquered most of the land, but he has also extinguished all magic.. or so he thinks.

Celaena Sardothien has spent the last year in one of the deadiest death camps.  Few have survived the Salt Mine, but she has somehow managed a year.  When two surprising visitors come for her, she wonders if this is the end.  But, she may be given a second chance to make it out of her lifelong sentence of torture.  Being the greatest assassin ever feared, she is asked to join a competition that could ultimately lead to her freedom.

We follow as she journeys to the last place she would have found herself: the king’s castle made out of stone and glass.  Celaena has to keep her identity a secret from those around her while trying to fight over thirty other assassins, thieves, and mercenaries over the course of a few months to prove her ability.  But, Champions begin to go missing and found half eaten.  Who could be behind this?

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.  I personally did not find the plot to be predictable.  There were a lot of twists and turns to the story that made it very interesting to continue reading.  I had just spent the entire day finishing the book, so definitely an easy read.  There were a few times that I found myself a little dragging which is why I didn’t give it 5 stars, but I enjoyed it none the less. The character development was very good.  You could tell their differences between the beginning and the ending of this first book.  I cannot wait to continue the story with Crown of Midnight.  I first plan on buying the bind-up of novellas that recently came out a few months ago called the Assassin’s Blade, and then continue on with the next three books.  The fourth installment is coming out 1 September 2015, so I am excited for that.

I can definitely see myself getting engrossed in more of Sarah J. Maas’s writing. She has an enticing writing style which I hope gets better as I read more of her books. This was the first book that I have read from her. Sarah also kept the romance to a point where it was not a majority of the story which I also thought made the me want to read more.  As readers, we weren’t stuck in long scenes where we would have felt stuck in.  Sarah also makes the main character an assassin who is also kind of a girly-girl which is very rare to see.  She was not just your typical hardcore strong girl. This, I think, gave her more of a relatable feature.  Definitely a lot of fun characters in this series so far.


Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

More Book Information:

Published: 7 August 2012

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 404

How I Read it: Paperback


More book reviews are coming your way! You can easily follow me through the link below or through my Instagram page @treestandbookreviews!

What did you guys think of Throne of Glass?  If you have not read it, let me know what your pre-thoughts are on it! 🙂

Thank you guys for subscribing and Happy Reading!

Collage 2015-05-27 08_58_53

5 thoughts on “Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

