OwlCrate Unboxing: May 2015

Collage 2015-05-27 08_39_24

I am soooo excited!  My very first OwlCrate box was dropped off the other day, and I have been dying to share with you guys.


20150523_181131

For those of you who may not know what an OwlCrate is, it is a young adult monthly subscription service that sends out a box of bookish goodies right to your door.  Each box includes a newly released (within 45 days of the box’s ship date) young adult book along with 3-5 bookish goodies (such as what you will see below) that revolve around the theme for that month’s box!

The price for each box is $29.99 (+ shipping costs)!  You can choose either a 1,3, or 6 month payment plan as well.  The higher the plan, the lower the cost.

Each box is shipped out on the 20th of each month, and it says it could take up to 10-14 days to get to you.

My box took only 3 days to get to my doorstep, and I have been hearing the same thing from many other BookTubers and book bloggers, so you wont really have to worry about the shipping taking too long unless you are in a far away place!  I was very pleased with that from OwlCrate!  I bought this OwlCrate for myself with a 6-month payment plan, and from what I saw in my first book and all the previous boxes, I think I will be very happy to continue my subscription.  The price is not bad for the amount o cool bookish stuff that you receive.  AND you get a BRAND NEW RELEASED HARDCOVER book!  That alone can reach up to over $20(USD) on its own, so $29.99 (+shipping) is fine with me.

Without further ado, here is what appeared in this month’s OwlCrate box!:


20150523_181440

**Delivered by Harry the owl!**

The theme for May 2015 was PARALLEL WORLDS!

20150523_17414920150523_174346

Here is the super cute box that made me very interested in figuring out what the product was.  It caught my attention immediately due to the Harry Potter reference 🙂 I first saw this being featured on Kassidy Voinche’s OwlCrate Unboxing! March 2015 video, and I knew right away this was the box for me!

20150523_175046

This is what the inside looks like right when you open it! The fun little card that you see laying on top explains all of the bookish items in detail.  I try not to look at this until after I look at all of the items so that I don’t get spoiled beforehand! Just so you guys know, you may want to do the same.

20150523_180057

The first thing I pulled out was a set of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland themed tattoos from SmashTat.  There are features from the artwork in the original book by Lewis Carroll. These are perfect for me because I love this story.  I probably will never use them, but they would look perfect on the bookshelf that I still need to buy 🙂 Super cute! It fits in with the theme because of Alice’s parallel world of Wonderland.

20150523_18011620150523_18014120150523_180852

The next thing I pulled out of the box was this package with a tin can in it.  I wasn’t sure what in the world it was until I obviously read the description.  It is called Crazy Aaron’s Thinking Putty, and it is putty that is heat activated.  You can stick it in the freezer for a few seconds and when it comes out, your hands will make it change color faster.  The colors of this putty is purple and blue which is part of the theme as well.  You can squeeze, bounce, and stretch it, and can be used as a great stress reliever, or as the box says, you can use it as a way to bring your thoughts about!

20150523_180159

The final bookish item was a small notebook from Obvious State with an E.E. Cummings quote of : “listen, there is a hell of a good universe next door, let’s go.” I don’t think Ill use this as well, but it is a good decoration.

Finally, the book for this month’s Parallel Worlds box is….

20150523_180252

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley!  This is a book that I have wanted, and if you have been following me for awhile, you will know that this is one of the five books that I featured in my Monthly Reads for May! I am glad that I got this as I wasn’t sure when I would be able to purchase it.  For those of you that do not know what this novel is about, it is about a girl named Aza who has a serious condition where she is allergic to air.  We find her in a parallel world where she no longer has this disease, but she soon has to choose between the life with or the life without the disease.  But, if she chooses the life without the life-threatening condition, she may be in more danger than she thought.

Along with the book came an exclusive bookmark in the shape of the feather and a signed bookplate! Pretty cool!  I really like how OwlCrate adds exclusive items from the author/publisher that go along with the book we are given.

20150523_175852

Here is what came in the entire box.  I am happy with the box as a whole.  It came quick, and the book was a choice that I had on my TBR pile.  I don’t quite know what I will do with the notebook or the putty, but they are going to be for decoration on my future bookshelf.  As I said before, I plan on continuing the subscription after the 6 months are up.  I haven’t gotten any of the other young adult subscription boxes, but from what I saw from other bloggers, this was the one that fit in with my reading style.

If you would like to get a box for yourself, visit the OwlCrate website here.  The boxes for each month sell out fast, so you will have to place your name in the waiting list.  It is worth it though!

****Disclaimer: I was not asked or promoted in any way by anyone to say any of these things!  These are my honest opinions only!****

Stay tuned for more OwlCrate posts in the future! You can subscribe to Treestand Book Reviews via email through the link below. You can also follow me on Instagram @treestandbookreviews and my #treestandbookreviews!  You will find a growing number of bookish pictures through the life of a book blogger who is in love with the world of books!   You may even find a sneak peek or two for the blog!

Collage 2015-05-27 08_58_53Thank you guys for visiting my site!  I love being able to show you all the world of Young Adult books! Let me know if you have or are planning on getting the next OwlCrate box!

Happy reading everyone!

Collage 2015-05-27 08_58_53

Leave a Reply

