Untaken by J.E. Anckorn

Want to read a book on alien invasions?  Untaken by J.E. Anckorn is a story captured through the eyes of three young kids during a sudden alien invasion.  All over the world, there are huge silver space ships floating above random cities.  What is even creepier is that they haven’t struck yet… they just float.  But when the time finally comes to where they begin to move, no one is safe.

Untaken by J.E. Anckorn
Untaken by J.E. Anckorn

Gracie, age 14, is just a nerdy girl trying to make it through high school.  Brandon, age 16, is a high school dropout living with his drunken dad.  Jake, age unknown, is a whole different scenario.  Each become affected by the invaders, but are brought together to a camp that they were told was safe.  Now, they know better.  We follow them as they try to live in the now-apocalyptic atmosphere while also running from the Drones and Space Men… and the military.  This is a perfect read for anyone who is a fan of the movie War of the Worlds.  It has that dark alien feeling that goes perfectly with the movie’s atmosphere.  That was what I was picturing in my mind as the setting for this book.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.  The story-line was very entertaining.  I really enjoyed how J.E. Anckorn used very distinct dialect for each of the characters.  I could leave and come back to where I was in the story, and when I read one sentence, I knew exactly who’s point of view I was experiencing.  It is very hard to find an author who can truly accomplish this.  The book does tell the events through Gracie, Brandon, and Jake with each character dictating the chapter.  It is also told in three parts for the three seasons that they experienced throughout the invasion.  I also felt like the ending was very satisfying.  I could see myself possibly reading this book again in the future (but that TBR-pile is growing so high, so maybe not quite in the future).  I really enjoyed this book, and it was a quick, easy read.  Definitely a go-to for anyone who likes aliens and sci-fi young adult books.

More Book Information:

Published: 23 March 2015

Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press

Genre: Young Adult Science-Fiction

Pages: 262

How I Read It: NetGalley eBook from the publisher

Wanna buy it?? Click HERE

****Disclaimer: I received this from the publisher through NetGalley in return for an honest review.  Everything is my opinion only. I was not asked or told to say any of these things!****

Stay tuned for more book reviews and other bookish posts coming soon! You can subscribe to Treestand Book Reviews via email by clicking the appropriate button below.  You can also follow me through Instagram @treestandbookreviews and my #treestandbookreviews.  You will find a growing number of fun bookish photos and much more!

Hope you guys enjoy this review and Happy Reading!

wpid-collage-2015-04-30-11_06_31.jpg.jpeg

One thought on “Untaken by J.E. Anckorn

Leave a Reply

