From One Bookworm to Another: Reading on a Budget

Hello everyone!

It has been a little bit since I have posted on this page, but do not worry because I am getting to the end of my current book, so a review is on its way! As some of you know, I am a full-time college student.  There have been times when I post lots, and times when I post little.  Many more ideas have been coming to me in the last few weeks, and I am dying to share them with you all. From now on I am going to try to share fun and interesting posts more often.  I have been wanting to come up with stuff that is non-review type stories, but that are still relevant to every book-lover out there.

07bfe61dd392b74053edf7f34bf4ab4fI am a broke college girl.  There is no way for me to say it any other way. If you are anything like me, I am unable to access a physical library where I live on campus.   The library I do have does not have a young adult, fictional section so finding books that I enjoy is very hard to find.  Like many college students, money is a little bit scarce.  So, how do I read so many books with no money and no physical library that accomplishes my needs?

I have found an amazing way to read on a budget: eBooks. You may be asking yourself “but I thought they cost money?”  Not in the way that I am about to tell you. Over the last few months, I have been looking for a way to minimize the money I spend on books while still being able to read all the books that are on my To-Be-Read (TBR) list.

Right before the snow came, I finally made the across-the-street journey to my public library back in my hometown.  I had been wanting to go and check the place out as I had not done so since I had moved there a few years ago. Out of the blue, I decided I was going to go right then and there and just sign up for a library card.  Little did I know, that after I signed myself into the library’s system I found out that I could borrow library books online!  My library has a program where I can download a HUGE selection of books from all genre for 21 days with up to 5 books borrowed.  I found my answer.

This is a great way for me to borrow whatever book I want,  wherever I want it.  If you follow many book bloggers, they always say that they are trying their hardest to strap themselves on a book buying ban.  You do not need to do that with this. Many libraries are now becoming advanced in using technology as a way to allow members to check out books easier.  Does this sound like what you have been looking for? All you need to do is go to your public library and apply for a library card. It only takes 5 minutes! Now, not all libraries may be up-to-date on this system, but it does not hurt to ask.

There is a downer to this way of reading on a budget: you need a smart-device or a eReader. With my library, if you have a smartphone then you are golden.  My system allows you to download an app on your Apple or Android device, but I use my new Nook Glowlight that I got for Christmas. All I have to do is download the book that I want from the website, and download it straight to my Nook. It is that simple.  I get to browse thousands of books that I are right up my ally.  The selection of books even have newly released titles. It is just like going to a bookstore and picking the one I want out.

I have found an amazing way to have the chance to read whatever I want, while saving myself a lot of money. I can take the books anywhere, and not have to worry about having to run back to the library to return the books when the due date is near. It is simple and very easy for me. I still73a1e2fced234bbe27e8e18907a0680a buy physical books every so often, but not as much as I had before.  This is a great way to keep yourself on a budget and not have to suffer by putting yourself on a book buying ban.  I know that there are many people who do not like using eBooks, but to me, it has more advantages than disadvantages. So what are you waiting for? Go save money!! 🙂

Let me know how you guys save your money while reading on a budget. This tip has worked loads for me, and hopefully it will do the same for you.  If you have any suggestions for future posts let me know.  Stay tuned for more posts coming soon! If you would like to receive a free email subscription to my blog you can click the appropriate link in the sidebar (if on desktop) or below (if on a mobile device).  You will then be notified of all posts on this blog! If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions feel free to leave one below!

Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of your day,

wpid-collage-2015-03-03-11_58_43.jpg.jpeg

Leave a Reply

