Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini

Eragon by Christopher Paolini
Eragon by Christopher Paolini

I love dragon stories.  I do not know what about them makes me fascinated, but I am always drawn into the world of dragons. Eragon by Christopher Paolini was the perfect snow-day tale.

Eragon, a teenaged farm boy, is walking through the mountains when a perfectly polished, blue stone appears out of nowhere.  Curious, he grabs the stone and runs back to his farm where he hides it until he can figure out its worth.  Suddenly one night, a noise comes from within the egg.  The noise turns into a crack.  The crack expands to reveal a bright blue baby dragon.  What will Eragon do with a, supposedly extinct, dragon in his room? From then on, Eragon’s world expands greater than he would have thought possible, but soon two strangers journey into town with a look of trouble to them. Tragic events lead Eragon and his growing dragon to escape the world he once knew and journey into the unknown.

I read a few reviews on Goodreads for this book, and almost everyone either absolutely loves the book or hates the series.  I was one of the readers who loves this book.  Many people who did not like the book was because of the Lord-of-the-Rings-feel to the author’s writing style.  When I look at the two books, I do see similar atmospheres in the worlds, but at the same time, I see the stories as having their own unique sparks to them.

I had actually read the first two books in the Inheritance Cycle when I was around 7th grade. It has been awhile, so when I was sorting through a box of books in my basement, I found my mass market paperback edition hiding in the mix.  After finishing Monstrous, I started The Inheritance Cycle right away.  I read Eragon within a week.  I did not remember very much of the book from the first time, so I enjoyed it as if it was my first time reading it.  I give Eragon 5 stars.  I see myself reading the series over again in the future once I finish the four books.  There were many sudden surprising events that took place throughout the book.  There were very few times where I could tell what was going to happen.  Between the dragons, elves, dwarfs, werecats, and magic, I was entranced.

More Book Information:

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Published: 26 August 2003

Pages: 503

How I read it: Mass Market Paperback

Stay tuned for more book reviews coming soon! If you would like to receive a free email subscription to my blog you can click the appropriate link in the sidebar (if on desktop) or below (if on a mobile device).  You will then be notified of all posts on this blog! If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions feel free to leave one below.

For more information on this book, click here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/113436.Eragon?from_search=true

wpid-collage-2015-03-03-11_58_43.jpg.jpeg

4 thoughts on “Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini

Leave a Reply

